Laboratory of Pathology

Dr. Ruth Kirschstein and George Rusten worked in the Laboratory of Pathology at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). They were located in Building 29, Rooms 512 and 516. Previously, Dr. Kirschstein and Rusten had worked in the Laboratory of Viral Immunology on the second floor of Building 29.

Pathology became its own laboratory, elevated from a section within the Laboratory of Viral Immunology, in 1964, bringing the total number of laboratories in the Division of Biologics Standards (DBS) to seven. In 1965, Dr. Kirschstein became Chief of the Laboratory of Pathology.

In 1968, Dr. John C. Petricciani joined the Public Health Service and was assigned to the DBS at the NIH, where he was a medical officer in the Laboratory of Pathology. When the DBS was administratively transferred from the NIH to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Dr. Petricciani stayed on in Pathology, rising to the rank of Deputy Director of the Division of Pathology by 1976.

After the administrative transfer of the DBS from the NIH to the FDA in 1972, Pathology remained on the fifth floor of Building 29 until 1985, when it was no longer listed in the telephone directories as a division. Its functions were likely reassigned to another division or lab.