Office of History Advisory Committee
The Stetten Museum Advisory Committee is comprised of Federal scientists and officials appointed by the Director, NIH, and by non-Federal consultants on an ad-hoc basis. The committee advises the Director of the Office of NIH History and the Deputy Director of Intramural Research, who participates as an ex-officio member of the committee and exercises oversight authority for Office activities.

Committee Chair: Peter Greenwald, M.D., Dr.P.H.
Director, Division of Cancer Prevention, National Cancer Institute



Elizabeth Fee , Ph.D.
Chief, History of Medicine Division, National Library of Medicine

William Gahl, M.D., Ph.D.
Clinical Director, National Human Genome Research Institute

Harvey Klein, M.D.
Chief, Department of Transfusion Medicine, Clinical Center

Philip M. Murphy, M.D.
Chief, Molecular Signaling Section, Laboratory of Host Defenses
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Keiko Ozato, Ph.D.
Section on Molecular Genetics of Immunity
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development

Griffin Rodgers , M.D.
Deputy Director, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases



John Burklow
Director, Office of Communications and Public Liaison, Office of the Director

John I. Gallin, M.D.
Director, Clinical Center

Michael Gottesman, M.D.
Deputy Director for Intramural Research

Donald Lindberg, Ph.D.
Director, National Library of Medicine

Sharon Wahl, Ph.D.
Immediate Past Chair of the Advisory Committee

Richard Wyatt, M.D.
Executive Director, Office of Intramural Research



Krishna Balakrishnan, Ph.D.
Executive Director, Foundation for Advanced Education in the Sciences

Henry Fales, Ph.D.
Liaison from Pisano Travel Grants Committee
Chief, Chemical Structure Section
Laboratory of Biophysical Chemistry, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

Harriet Greenwald
Liaison from the NIH Alumni Association

Victoria A. Harden, Ph.D.
Special Volunteer and Founding Director

Richard M. Krause, M.D.
Scientist Emeritus
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Henry Metzger, M.D.
Senior Advisor
Scientist Emeritus
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases

Alan Schechter, M.D.
Senior Advisor
Acting Director; Advisory Committee Chair, 1989-1999
Chief, Laboratory of Chemical Biology
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases

Gail Stetten, Ph.D.
Stetten family representative
Associate Professor
Department of Gynecology and Obstetrics
McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine at Johns Hopkins University

top of page

Office of History and Museum| Bldg 60 | Room 262 | National Institutes of Health | Bethesda, MD 20814-1460
Phone: 301.496.6610 | Email:
Freedom of Information Act

Last updated: 16 June 2009
First published: 2 February 2005
Permanence level
Permanent: Dynamic Content